mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Wide range cassette for 1x10.

I'm running a single 36t chain ring and Shimano HG-81, 11-34 cassette.

I'd like a little more top speed but most importantly I'd like a bit more climbing ability.

Are there cassettes that have a wider difference between the high/low gears?

I'm quite new to this 1x10 malarky, but think I'm correct in assuming that if I want to alter both high and low performance then its the cassette I need to pay attention to, not the ring.

mtbr member
    For a 10 speed cassette, you won't find anything smaller than an 11 tooth cog (top end). The largest cog on a stock cassette is 36 teeth. This will give you a slightly lower climbing gear than what you currently have. Is it enough? That's up to you.

The other option is XX1.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    11-36

mtbr member
    2 x 10.

dwt
    mtbr member

Old enough to know better. And old enough not to care. Best age to be.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    Thanks guys, shall give 11-36 a go, if not I'll opt for 2x10.

Like the look of the 11-40 adapter but more expense than cassette alone.

dwt
    mtbr member

Quote Originally Posted by PaulClift View Post

Like the look of the 11-40 adapter but more expense than cassette alone.
    Agreed. Would be very welcome for 1X10, if I could justify paying for it

mtbr member
    Ebay has 36-41 tooth machined cogs for $35. Search 38 tooth cog.

38 tooth stainless steel rear cog for use with Shimano and SRAM cassettes. This is a custom made cog designed to fit behind 8, 9 or 10 speed, 5 arm or flat cog rear cassettes. Laser cut for a very precise fit at the spline. Compatible with modern Shimano and SRAM 8, 9 or 10 speed cassettes and driveshells. Simple bolt on installation with existing components and minor adjustments. No cutting, grinding or drilling. Instructions and spacers are included. It has been tested with Sram and Shimano high and low normal, long and short caged, derailleurs.