mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Why are chain guides so expensive and what do I need to keep my chain in place?

First, just as an observation, chain guides and chain retention devices seem a bit overpriced. I cannot justify spending $150 for a chain guide. But that is a small complaint.

I am running 1x9 on a hardtail. The frame has ISCG 05 mounts. I currently have a bashguard on the outside, but my chain keeps falling to the inside. What sort of set-up do I need in order to keep it in place? What would be considered overkill?

mtbr member

Re: Why are chain guides so expensive and what do I need to keep my chain in place?

N-Gear Jumpstop works well on hardtails if you're running a bash ring (as you are). Google it...I think they're about $12.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2

Bicyclochondriac.
    Jan 2004
    THIS^^^^

I know for some really rough applications, this might not work, but I've been running the bash/jumpstop combo on a HT for about 4 years and the only time I've ever lost a chain was when the jumpstop got knocked out of alignment in a crash. Other than that, not a single chain drop. Not one.

Just make sure you shorten the chain as much as much as you can.

Why are chain guides so expensive and what do I need to keep my chain in place?-p1010009.jpg
    15mm is a second-best solution to a problem that was already solved.

mtbr member
    Some put a bashguard on both sides of the chainring, making a bashwich. Though the above suggestion is also likely to solve your problem.

Bicyclochondriac.
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by honns View Post
    Some put a bashguard on both sides of the chainring, making a bashwich. Though the above suggestion is also likely to solve your problem.
    Good point!