I like turtles

What ring is everyone running on their Eagle?

Came stock with a 32 but finding that the 32/50 is a ridiculously low gear. The point of Eagle was to give you more total range so thinking of moving up to the 34 oval. What is everyone running?
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro are #@$%

mtbr member
    The main argument for Eagle is the ability to run a lower climbing gear without having to use a ridiculously small front chainring as this has negative effect on the rear suspension

I run the eagle with the 32T stock chainring because that's the size my frame works best with

before that 11speed 30/10-42 was a great combo but I was wishing got a lower gear from time to time and the 30T provoked more pedal feedback when pedaling over roots and rocks

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    Came stock with a 32 but finding that the 32/50 is a ridiculously low gear. The point of Eagle was to give you more total range so thinking of moving up to the 34 oval. What is everyone running?
    Do you ever find yourself needing more than the 32/10t?

My 2x has about the exact same high and low gear as your setup and though I rarely use the lowest gear (22/34) I'm really glad it's there when I'm on one of those seemingly endless 20% climbs. It's probably even more rare to find myself in the 36/11 though so a higher gear wouldn't do me much good.

IMO if you're not running out of gear on the high end you might as well keep the low just in case, better to have too low a gear and not need it than vice-versa.
    I brake for stinkbugs

I like turtles
    Quote Originally Posted by J.B. Weld View Post
    Do you ever find yourself needing more than the 32/10t?