S-Mart's Top of the Line

Upgrade Questions...

Alright, I'm new to this, as if you couldn't tell by the postcount, and I need some help upgrading.

I've got an '04 Hardrock Comp Disc with the stock Shimano HG-50, 8-speed, 11x30t Cassette (although I don't know what that means) and I've also got the stock Truvativ ISO Flow, alloy, capless bolts crankset (can you tell I copy/pasted?), although the one side has a Truvativ fiveD crank arm, since the stock one kept coming loose. I've probably got a cumulative 400 miles on the bike, and I've already lost the smallest (#8?) gear on the casette. I can pedal light on it, but if I put any serious pressure, it jumps. I've also had issues with the chain jumping gears on the main crankset too. I'm definately looking to upgrade from something more serious, and more durable. I've eyeballed the race face crank sets, but I quite frankly don't have any idea where to look or where to head. Is there a "beginner's guide to upgrades" or something? My biggest gripes about the main crankset are A) the chain jumps off, then scratches the hell out of my frame, and B) it is wickedly noises/creaky. People hear me coming, and I want to be mtb ninja. :P As far as the cassette goes, durability is my biggest gripe. What else will I need to get this project kicked off? What else can I do to improve the drivetrain? What can I do to keep the chain from chewing up my frame? Who framed Roger Rabbit? You get the idea, if anyone would care to lend $.02 I'd appreciate it. I don't even know what frame measurements I would need to take.

I ride mostly Urban offroading due to my weight, but am working back towards freestyle/cross country, and a little bit of DJing. Current crank setup tops out at about 32mph.

Oh and yes, I understand I could run credit card in hand to my LBS, but I have the ability to do this, and might as well learn sometime. Besides, I'm cheaper than they are!

Thanks, I have manufacturer specs for any additional info needed.