mtbr member

Truvativ Fireex Cranks coming loose

I have been riding on the Truvativ Fire Ex cranks for 7 months now and they have come loose twice. The LBS mechanic has tried applying some type of thread dope, which helps for about a month. They are trying say that this is normal and I need to upgrade to something like the shimano LX or XT. Has anyone had problems with these cranks or are there any issues like recalls or known defects??? It would be nice to know if there are issues before I throw away that hard earned cash!!

JAD

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    this is normal, i have to retorqe within two rides after every service, but after, it seems to hold up fine. if you have a 73mm bracket, you shouldnt use any spacers. the self extracting outer nut works like a locknut.

mtbr member
    I wouldn't call it normal, exactly, but it's usually a good idea to go over your bike every couple of rides and make sure everything is properly torqued.

Do you have the newer FireX crankset with a GXP (external bearing) bottom bracket?

mtbr member
    After two rides to me is not acceptable. I only noticed this issue after about 6 months. Maybe I'm just asking for too much, but the three piece profile cranks I ran on my GT performer from the 80's never had and issue and I rode the heck out of it on the ramps and dirt jumps when I was a teen. I would expect the technology to be as good if not better in today's age. Thanks for the info though. I think I'll still be going into my LBS and asking for a fix or something that's comparable to the Fireex.
    JAD

achiever
    Your LBS is full of it, it's not normal. I'm running an 06 Firex crankset with GXP outboard bearings and have never has them come loose unless I loosened them. I would get an 8MM allen wrench and torque that bolt down for all your worth and I bet it won't come loose.

Just a flesh wound

Not normal