mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Time ATAC XS Carbon

Hi,

I just got a new pair of Time ATAC XS pedals from ebay and have a couple of questions. This is my first time using clipless pedals so not sure what I'm noticing is normal or not.

With the pedals installed, when I spin each pedal using my hand, is it normal that the pedal only rotate less than 1 turn? When I was at REI last week checking out some CB pedals, those can make several complete turns with each spin by hand. Just want to make sure this is normal with Time pedals or maybe something wrong w/ the bearings?

The other thing I noticed is when I unclip with the left pedal, it'll make a loud spring pop sound. The pedal on the right doesn't make the same noise. Unclipping the right side pedal is very smooth unlike the left. I have the adjustable release system at factory setting of 1.

Last question is are the cleats suppose to touch the ground when you walk? I have specialized expert mtb shoes. I'm guessing this would depend on the shoe?

Thanks,
    ckc
    Last edited by ckc527; 10-08-2012 at 03:27 AM.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by ckc527 View Post
    Hi,

I just got a new pair of Time ATAC XS pedals from ebay and have a couple of questions. This is my first time using clipless pedals so not sure what I'm noticing is normal or not.

With the pedals installed, when I spin each pedal using my hand, is it normal that the pedal only rotate less than 1 turn? When I was at REI last week checking out some CB pedals, those can make several complete turns with each spin by hand. Just want to make sure this is normal with Time pedals or maybe something wrong w/ the bearings?

The other thing I noticed is when I unclip with the left pedal, it'll make a loud spring pop sound. The pedal on the right doesn't make the same noise. Unclipping the right side pedal is very smooth unlike the left. I have the adjustable release system at factory setting of 1.