mtbr member

that's some funny shift, right there, ....

local harassment has waned, so i figured i'd ask for some teasing here.

i've been running it this way on all my bikes, for fifteen years, now.

i prefer the xt friction shifter for the front derailleur.
    i only have 2 of the push-push xt rear shifters left, that still work correctly. not sure what i'll do when they're toast. i don't like the push-trigger style

ok. there's my eccentricity. who else is running some funny shift? post up, wierdos.

boki rides a clark kent from 1994
    and a vw R32 from 2004

mtbr member
    Dont have any pics, but I'll never give up my thumbies.

I run a set of 20+ year old Deore thumbshifters that i found in my parents garage.... in fact even retired my XT rapidfires in favor of them. They're technically 5 speed, but i can run 8 or 9 because they don't index. Practically no adjustments and they never wear out!

mtbr member
    May 2008
    I would kill for a set of decent friction thumb shifters. I hate indexed shifting. I scan E-bay everyday for Deore Xt or Suntour expert XC 7/8 friction thumbies. But lately they have been auctioning out at over a $100 a pair. I'll keep waiting I guess.

Hardbooter
    I recall my Grandfather's Canadian made Raleigh having the coolest shifters I've ever seen.

They were very early Shimano Indexed Shifting shifters, but they had a little switch on the side that had two options, "SIS" and "F" If you're sick of the Indexed shifting, you just flipped the switch, and it was a beautiful friction shift. Wouldn't work for a newer bike, as it was a 10 speed.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by KingCrimson
    ... early Shimano Indexed Shifting shifters, but they had a little switch on the side that had two options, "SIS" and "F" If you're sick of the Indexed shifting, you just flipped the switch, and it was a beautiful friction shift. Wouldn't work for a newer bike, as it was a 10 speed.