Thread: Sram X.0 or X-9

mtbr member

Sram X.0 or X-9

I am looking to upgrade my Shimano XT rear derailleur to a sram x.0 or x-9. Just so you know, I have Sram Attack shifters. I was wondering if these parts are compatible?

Also, I'm relatively new to downhill biking but not to biking in general(used to BMX a ton) and I need to know what the differences are in cage lengths and what would be best for a downhill bike. FYI, I am going to be racing come spring/summer. Thanks for your help.

jbf
    mtbr member

X.9 - and the Attack shifters will NOT work

X.9 is a fantastic derailleur. The price difference does not make sense unless you have excess cash burning a hole in your pocket. That said, I just upgraded from X.9 to last years model X.0. I'm not a big fan of the carbon cage on the '06.

Do as I say, not as I do.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jbf
    X.9 is a fantastic derailleur. The price difference does not make sense unless you have excess cash burning a hole in your pocket. That said, I just upgraded from X.9 to last years model X.0. I'm not a big fan of the carbon cage on the '06.

Do as I say, not as I do.
    Maybe I do have some extra cash just burning a hole in my pocket....wait, nope, that's just lint Thanks for the advice.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    cage length depends on the gearing (ie: tooth difference):

(big chainring teeth - small chainring teeth) + (big cassette teeth - small cassette teeth)
    eg: (44-22) + (34-11) = 45t

*long cage: max 45t
    *medium cage: max 37t
    *short cage: 30t

X.0 is more durable, with forged alloy parts, but at a price. and if you damage it...ouch. X.9 functions just as well under normal conditions, just not as tough, and not quite as light; still an excellent RD.

for the record, i have both, but i don't do DH, just XC.

as for compatibility, not sure.

[size=1]
    - Giant NRS Composite - Giant XTC2 - Giant TCRCzero - Giant OCR1 -
    [/size]