Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

SRAM ten speed shifting issues

Just got a new bike a month ago and built it up myself. First time for 10 speed for me but have set up several 9 speed derailleurs over the years so not a total noob but I'm having a few issues with my rear shifting.

When I shift to a taller gear (down to a smaller cog) the chain hangs up on the current cog especially in the biggest three or four cogs. I have to click the shifter twice then it shifts down two cogs and I have to shift back up one. It's also a bit slow/reluctant to shift up onto a larger cog with one click sometimes.

-It won't stay in the second to smallest cog no matter what I do. As soon as I click it down from the third smallest it drops down immediately onto the smallest. If I click it back up one it will stay for a half second then drop back down.... so essentially I only have 9 gears.

-I can't get the upper pulley anywhere close to the the largest cog using the b-tension screw. It seems to move the pulley back and forth more than up and down. I know this gap on a 10 speed cassette is supposed to be greater than on a 9 speed but it's between 15-20 mm. Is that right?

Do I have my derailleur mounted incorrectly perhaps?

-I can feel the black Power Link connector link when running the chain through a rag to wipe off excess lube. Is this correct? The old removable gold Powerlink on my 9 Speed stuff felt just like any other link (ie couldn't identify it by feel).

Puzzled. (yes I've googled but haven't found the anwsers I'm seeking.)

FWIW the front derailleur is working flawlessly. Can't believe how easy and fast it is to shift between the two gears in the front. Loving it. Wish the rear were working as well.
    Last edited by KRob; 05-09-2013 at 12:06 PM.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    A couple of things: