mtbr member

Wink Shimano 1:1 ratio rear deraileur conversion.

I've been running XT/XTR for the past three and a half years it has always performed flawlessly (well the LX didn't but that was gooped up cables that I never changed, cleaned, or lubed)..... until recently.

I did crash and bend the derailer hanger and/or the deraileur cage a month or so back and finally got things mostly straightened out and readjusted so it was shifting pretty well again, but then I broke a cable and since I've put the new one on following Sheldon Brown's setup instructions and a week or so of perfect shifting, it's now doing a couple of funny things. Not sure where to go with the adjustment. A little help from the gurus would be appreciated.

Disclaimer: I'm no bike mechanic... but there is no bike mechanic within 200 miles of my house so I'm all I've got..... well, me and you.

Here's the problem:

It seems to be indexing fine as far as no grinding noise while it's in any of the cogs, but it sometimes requires two clicks before it will shift down onto a smaller cog (usually between the third and fourth or fourth and fifth cog). It also seems sluggish shifting up onto the next bigger cog... pushing on the thumb trigger... nothing happening... push a little further then it goes or maybe it jumps up two. But like I said once it's on the cog there's no sound of maladjustment.

Where should I start?

Elitest thrill junkie
    This post makes no sense. Shimano derailers are 2:1 actuation ratios. What are you talking about as far as the 1:1?? What "conversion" are you talking about?

Your problem sounds like it would be most likely attributed to a poor installation of new cable/housing. If somewhere a small strand of cable is broken and dragging in the housing, it would cause the problems you are talking about. Also kinks in the cable or in a crimped ferrule would be sources of friction that could be causing the problem.