Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Replacement crankset options - what is compatible?

Hey all, I am a newbie at crankset replacement, but have learned a lot in the last week. I have removed my old crankset and been looking at replacement options. The only thing I have not been able to figure out is what will definitely work as a replacement crankset. Am I right to assume that the new type of cranksets with external bearing BBs have all of the spacers I need to make them work on my bike?

I have a 2002 Cannondale Jeckyll with a Shimano BB-ES70 73 x 113mm Octalink bottom bracket... Are all of the new outside bearing bottom brackets compatible? Is the chainline adjustable on this type of bottom brackets? Can I just buy any new Truvative Stylo crankset with the GXP BB and expect to be able to adjust it to fit and align?

Thanks in advance for your superior crankset wisdom!

it's....
    New outboard BB crankset works with 68 or 72 mm, and comes with spacers to adjust chainline if needed.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    hmmmm.... so I bought a new Truvative crankset with the GXP BB and got it installed - torqued to the right specs, etc.... cool! Now I know how to replace cranksets! Unfortunately, the chainline for the new crankset does not line up with my front deraileur. My old BB is 68 mm, so I had to use a spacer on each side to install the GXP BB. I unscrewed the outer limit screw and adjusted the deraileur as far as possible and it still would not go into the big ring. So I took the BB apart and reinstalled with both spacers on the non-drive side. A little better, but still not enough... I cannot shift into the big ring. And there seems to be no way to move the crankset closer to the frame. Is there a way to move or adjust the front deraileur even further than the limit screws allow? Or do I need a new front deraileur or different crankset?

Go SOLAR...