mtbr member
    Feb 2008

removing a crank..

I picked up an xt crank and im trying to pull off the old race face ride xc from the bike.
    I got the center nut off after putting a pipe on an 8mm allen key even thou it should have been tightened to 45 in/lb of torque.. now im stuck trying to pull the sprocked side off. is there a tool for that or should I just hit it to get it off. and yes this is my first time changing a crank

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    Yes, there is a specific tool made for the job. It threads into the arm and has a threaded pusher that pushes the spindle out of the crank. Don't try to remove the crank without this tool, you'll probably damage the arm or spindle.

There are various brands, and you can pick one up at the LBS or any of the mail-order houses.
    fb
    www.chain-L.com

The key to solving any problem is to understand and address the underlying cause.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    Thanks. I'll see if my lbs has one

See if they can educate you on usual torque values too...
    "...the people get the government they deserve..."
    suum quique

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    The nut was tightened by rocky mountain or the bike shop, whoever assembled it when it was new . Anyways I do own a torque wrench and I will go by the instructions that came with the new crank.

Quote Originally Posted by tilk
    The nut was tightened by rocky mountain or the bike shop, whoever assembled it when it was new . Anyways I do own a torque wrench and I will go by the instructions that came with the new crank.
    You were the one who claimed it should only have been tightened to 45 in-lbs...which indicates to me you don't know what you're talking about and doesn't matter what someone else did or didn't do (try looking here http://parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=88). Follow instructions on the new crank, be sure you match up the correct model of XT crank, there are several different types of crank/bb interfaces all bearing the XT moniker...