mtbr member

Recommendations for Crank Arms or Even a Ful Crankset Needed!

Ok so this is my bike, a 2002 FSRxc. I haven't had to change a part on it since I bought it which I think is amazing... so now I've started riding again since the weather's been more friendly and the right crank arm has become stripped completely where it holds the bolt for the pedal.

I've already written Specialized and they responded simply with the generic response of 'take it to your bike shop.' However I'm one of those do it yourself guys so I'd prefer to buy my own parts on eBay, or online and do the work myself.

So my question those of you with experience is: can I get away with buying just a set of new crank arms or should I just buy a new crankset? I'm a full time student so money's kind of tight but I don't mind spending more for better quality parts. Because I have ridden the bike so much, and this being the first real maintenance I've had to do I'm thinking that it could be just the beginning of a series of replacement parts I'll be buying.

So what do you all recommend? If I were to buy new crank arms, or even a completely new crankset how do I know which ones will fit?

According to Specialized this is my current setup:

CRANKSET:
    Specialized Forearm II Sport

BOTTOM BRACKET:
    Shimano BB-LP-28, square taper, e-type , 113 x 68mm

Thanks for your time!

That's my name
    Quote Originally Posted by B.C.
    So my question those of you with experience is: can I get away with buying just a set of new crank arms or should I just buy a new crankset?

If your chainrings aren't too worn and your bottom bracket is still ok (as well as the chain and cassette), you should still be able to find replacement cranks.
    I found a set here on Ebay that includes chainrings for only $15!! At that price you could get a new chain while you are at it and maybe a cassette.

tlg
    (enter witty phrase here)