mtbr member
    May 2017

Rear derailleur folded

Hello there, my rear derailleur folded up. Can someone give me an advice on how to fix it? I'm new to the bike scene And did search but didn't find much on how to fix it. It is a used diamondback mountai bike. Thank you

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Define "folded up". If it means bent, you're looking at likely replacement (or at least the derailleur hanger). If it means the cable came undone then look at Park's setup guide.

Rear Derailleur Adjustment | Park Tool

Kick Start My Heart
    Subscribed, waiting for good clear pic of derailleur.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    May 2017
    Thank you I'm hoping it just cable came undone I'll read the guide you provided.
    Last edited by Fngride; 05-18-2017 at 11:12 AM. Reason: Info

mtbr member
    May 2017
    Hello guys this is the pic of the rear derailleur it is upside down.

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Do you have the gears adjusted to the smallest chainring in the front and the smallest sprocket in the rear? That's what it looks like, which isn't the best gear to try to run in. If you switch to a/the bigger chainring in the front or bigger cassette sprockets in the rear, does that make it less "folded"?

Depending on the gear combination you are using at any particular time, the chain will have more or less tension/slack in it, which is the purpose of the spring action that the derailleur cage with the jockey wheels serves...to keep tension in the chain.
    Anthem Advanced
    ECR

mtbr member
    May 2017
    At the time I had it smallest on front and smallest on rear. Now the cable all loose. I wasn't suppose to run gear like that? I didn't know it seem to help most when I'm going uphill

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Yes, the cable will have slack because you have it in the gear that requires no tension to hold it in that gear.