mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Questions on converting to 1x8

Im pretty new to trail riding but im loving it and havent regreted spending a penny on my bike. I rarely ever leave my middle ring so ive been pondering converting to a 1x8 (or maybe 1x10??) but i dont know much about it. I normally stick to my 3 biggest cogs while im on the trails so im thinking a 30 or 32 tooth ring might be a better bet as i think that will make it a bit easier to climb while keeping any top end i might want. My main question is what do i need to convert to a 1xN? Do i need to buy a whole new crank set? If so what should i look for and what is the typical price range? Id really like to try and shave some weight off but i dont know how much weight i would be looking at loosing and if its even worth it. Ive tried to do a bit of reading but i seem to lack the basic knowledge about cranks to really know what im even reading it seems. Any help is greatly appreciated as are links to more information

Here is my current drivetrain
    Shifters: Shimano Altus, 8 speed
    Front derailleur: Shimano Altus
    Rear derailleur: Shimano Acera M360
    Crank: Shimano TX M171, 42/34/24
    Cassette: Shimano HG31 11-34, 8 speed

mtbr member
    I'm pretty sure you can just Single speed front conversion kit try pricepoint.com. As for shaviong weight the frist to go would be the tube change to ether sl tubes or go tubless. After that you are going to be into changing the drivetrain and wheels for upgranded and lighter parts but you aren't going to XTR,XX, or X0. You will get the most weight by changing wheel SL trail set.

As for the going to 10 speed rear I dont think your freewheel hub will work with it but you should be able to go to a 9 speed as they work on the same size free wheel hubs.

mtbr member
    Super simple. I went 1x8 and it works great.

Keep the same crankset. Remove the drive side crank arm and then remove the big and small ring.