mtbr member
    Oct 2005

questions on the CN-7701 chain

I need to replace my chain and thought that would be a simple matter (NOT!). Granted I'm a newbie, but I don't quite understand the Shimano tech sheet on this chain. Sooo--a few questions for those of you in the know:
    1. Is the chain tool TL-CN31 something else I have to buy, or is it the same as my old Park chain tool?
    2. If it is a special tool, does it only work on the reinforced pin, or will it work on all the pins (I assume all, but who knows?)
    3. Apparently not all pins are the same. In addition to the reinforced pin, there are end pins and link pins. Do these alternate throughout the entire length of the chain, or is there only one end pin? The diagram seems to indicate that they alternate. How do you recognize which is which?
    4. So if you break a link while riding, is it removed using the two link pins? Doesn't that leave you with two end pins to put together? Shimano says not to mess with the end pins.
    5. Does the chain come with extra links and/or reinforced pins, or is this yet another thing I will have to buy?
    Thanks for helping the visually impaired. I just don't see it.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by rokbottom47
    I need to replace my chain and thought that would be a simple matter (NOT!). Granted I'm a newbie, but I don't quite understand the Shimano tech sheet on this chain. Sooo--a few questions for those of you in the know:
    1. Is the chain tool TL-CN31 something else I have to buy, or is it the same as my old Park chain tool?
    2. If it is a special tool, does it only work on the reinforced pin, or will it work on all the pins (I assume all, but who knows?)
    3. Apparently not all pins are the same. In addition to the reinforced pin, there are end pins and link pins. Do these alternate throughout the entire length of the chain, or is there only one end pin? The diagram seems to indicate that they alternate. How do you recognize which is which?