Thread: Pull my Crank

You won't take me alive

Pull my Crank

OK so I need a little help here. I am parting out my bike and need some assistance with the cranks. I have never done them before...I have a crank puller...guys any tips...also how do you get the pesky headsets off.....
    Melissa
    oh yeah I am going to a new nine speed set up...should I go with my trusty xtr or take the step up to sram?

All 26.5" all the time!
    Here's the link to the Park Tool website. You'll need to know what type of cranks are installed.

http://www.parktool.com/repair/byreg...ageField2.y=14

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    yeah, what crankset and design? square taper vs ISIS vs external BB vs other? i'm figuring it's an ISIS (or shimano octalink).

XTR is still considered by most as the best of the best out there. how old is your setup? and are you unhappy with it?

switching to SRAM may not be a big upgrade, if at all, subject to what series you're after. X.0 is very, very nice, but expensive (then again, so too is XTR).

[size=1]
    - Giant NRS Composite - Giant XTC2 - Giant TCRCzero - Giant OCR1 -
    [/size]
    [size=1]- nothing stock here - move right along now -
    - Geelong area, Australia -
    [/size]

You won't take me alive

thanks...

I got most of the crank out the bb seems like it will live out eternity in my old frame...I got one sid off, but the other seems totally frozen...as far as drivetrains go...my old xtr treated me well this crank stood up to the rocky northeast...I want to upgrade/newer components but things seem to have gotten super complicated since my last build..the new xtr cranks have horrble reviews...and there doesn't seem to be a 'superior' crank out there...sram seems like a good drivetrain company but do you go with the x9 or the x0???? I ride xc but like I said it is wicked rocky whereI ride any suggestions???? Someone reccomended FSA cranks any riders out there???

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by seachicken11