mtbr member
    Mar 2004

Problems with Time ATAC Pedals

I have been running ATACs for almost 10 years on all my and my wife's bikes (4 MTBs, 2 fat bikes and a road bike), and never really had a problem. I have the ATAC XS on my do everything MTB, and almost killed myself on Porcupine Rim as I jumped off a ledge and my left foot pulled out. So basically landed on my right leg and my junk. Definitely not a good feeling, but I am lucky as it could have been much worse.

These are the first ATACs that I have had that have the tension adjustment. These aren't that old, maybe a couple of years, but the tension adjustment only holds for a couple of pedal strokes until it is loose again. Nothing appears to be broken, it's just that the end of the spring doesn't stay on the cam like surface of the tension screw. Is there anything that I can do to fix this, or are these going to be retired to the fat bike (used for only snow riding or smooth dirt) where coming out of the pedal won't get me killed.

Any info would be appreciated, as I am actually thinking of going to the dark side (Shimano SPDs).

Thanks - BS

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Curious, exactly what ATAC's' are you using?

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    Carbon shell ATAC AS.

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    My ATACS have 3 settings for tension if it is not staying in place I'd probably try moving it to each setting and seeing what happens.

If it doesn't work properly in any of the 3 then they might be kaput, I'm no expert but it seems like something that would be hard to repair.
    Those pedals have been bombproof for me over the years maybe its just a set that broke bad on you.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    I'm on my 3rd set. They've been great except one had a bearing come apart after only 100 miles. Time rebuilt at no cost but it took 4 weeks. Point is, they may help you with a rebuild. My rebuild has operated flawlessly for about 3,000 miles now.
    I just ordered the new ATAC XC carbon 8.