mtbr member
    Dec 2005

Pop in Chain/Pedaling - 100% New Drive Train

So here is my issue, I am a novice with bike maintenance, recently I repaired my entire drive train by putting a new cassette, chain, and all new front cogs. My drivetrain is 100% Shimano. Everything shifts like a champ, except when I am shifting gears with my rear derailuer, there will be a "pop" in the shifting giving me a moment of no pedal power and this typically causes me to lurch forward (painful). This happens typically when I am out of the saddle, but occasionally it even happens after I have shifted while I am just pedaling.

Do you guys have any ideas of what I can do to fix it? Is it possible I didn't size the chain right and its too large? Other than this "pop" it shifts like a dream...

ups and downs
    What rear hub do you have, that sounds like a freehub skipping. There were some XT and XTR freehubs that had that problem because the grease was too sticky.
    I'm a member of NSMBA and IMBA Canada

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Could be either over or under tensioned rear derailleur cable.

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    I've got a King rear hub, I had it reworked by King last year, so hopefully its still fine. I'll check the cable tension when I get home. Thanks guys...

mtbr member
    could be the free hub body or the chain is the wrong one if its a 10 speed it matters which way it goes on some time or a stiff link

mtbr member
    You really shouldn't be shifting while hammering out of the saddle. It puts a ton of stress on your drivetrain.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by amtbr View Post
    This happens typically when I am out of the saddle
    Shifting under a heavy load will often cause the symptoms you're describing. If the hub was failing I'd suspect you'd see the skipping on a regular basis, not just during shifts.

You shouldn't shift under load.

mtbr member