mtbr member
    Mar 2010

non drive crank arm coming loose all the time

my non drive crank arm keeps coming loose on me. i removed the bolt and put loctite on it and it still came out. i even changed my BB thinking that maybe it was the threads in that. put more loctite on and again today out she came. i'm going to try a different bolt. but is there something weired going on that i'm not aware of? this happen to anyone else
    i used to be a hot tar roofer, ya i remember that......day.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Is it square taper? Are you torquing it to the correct spec?

mtbr member
    If you rode with it loose even once you might have worn out the interface and created some permanent slop

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    so you think perhaps the crank arm is the problem?

mtbr member
    Maybe, maybe not. Its something to investigate if you find an arm with the same interface to swap in

Positively negative
    Mar 2010
    Arm may be damaged, but try removing it and cleaning the spindle and inside the arm with acetone or isopropyl alcohol and reinstalling and tightening to the correct spec (usually around 30 ft-lbs).

Rub it............
    Once a bolt comes loose and its been ridden until the crank arm has come loose, the bolt and crank arm will continue to come loose. The aluminum of the crank arm is softer than the steel spindle of the bottom bracket, therefore the crank arm wallows out and will not stay on the spindle. And it will continue to come loose, no matter what kind of loc-tite you use to hold the bolt in place.

Only solution is to find a replacement crank arm - usually hard to do - or replace the crank.

The only way that the arm will not come off is to use JB Weld, then when its time to replace the crank or BB due to damage/wear, your screwed that way too.

You need a crank.