Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Newbie Here - Crankset/Chain Ring Questions

655 views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  McCleary11 
#1 ·
I just bought a very lightly used 2005 Trek 4300 http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/BikeSpecs.aspx?Year=2005&Brand=Trek&Model=4300&Type=bike

I completed my first ride today and had some troubles with my outer chain ring hitting a few logs while passing over. I looked online to see how to remove it and replace it with a bash ring, but when inspecting the bike found that the rings are actually riveted together. I would like to switch to a single ring for simplicity and ground clearance. I realize that Suntour is the bottom of the barrel, but I am willing to upgrade if need be.

What are my options here? Do I need a whole new crank setup?

Thanks!

#3 ·
McCleary11 said:
I just bought a very lightly used 2005 Trek 4300 http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/BikeSpecs.aspx?Year=2005&Brand=Trek&Model=4300&Type=bike

I completed my first ride today and had some troubles with my outer chain ring hitting a few logs while passing over. I looked online to see how to remove it and replace it with a bash ring, but when inspecting the bike found that the rings are actually riveted together. I would like to switch to a single ring for simplicity and ground clearance. I realize that Suntour is the bottom of the barrel, but I am willing to upgrade if need be.

What are my options here? Do I need a whole new crank setup?

Thanks!
Cheapest solution......file down the teeth on the big ring and voila...instant bashguard.....more expensive solution, go out and buy a new crankset, bottom bracket, and bashguard......

#5 ·
Your bike has either a 68 or 73 mm bracket that crankset will fit both using the included spacers.......

If you are gonna do it yourself you might need a BB removal tool (not sure which one)......or else take it to a bike shop.....