mtbr member
    Oct 2007

New Drive Train or just quick fix?

So a while back my bike was in for maintenance and I ended up having to put a new chain on it because the old one was stretched. Didn't have the money at the time for a new cassette or front ring or anything... Its been a few months now and I think its probably time to replace that cassette...

Is my best bet to replace the cassette, chainrings, and chain all at once and then just make sure to keep it clean a lubed for max life? That way i'm startin fresh with a whole new drive train. Will my crank and BB still be compatible or do I really need to watch what I buy? What do you guys recommed?

I'm rollin with SRAM X9 derailers (long cage in the back I think). Dont really need a bash guard and need to have a good granny gear. I'm tryin to not sound like a total newb when I walk into the LBS and get their recomendations.

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

To start with....