mtbr member
    Apr 2007

New chain. Skipping.

Hi - I just installed a new chain on my bike. It now skips badly (basically under load). Is a worn cassette the most likely culprit (2 yrs. old, daily use)? Chainring? It's not a stiff link. The cassette does appear to have some wear, but not an extreme amount (at least to my eye). Just want to eliminate possibilities before forking over for a new cassette. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Yes, the old cassette has worn to mesh with the stretched chain. Now the new (shorter) chain doesn't mesh with the old cassette. The chainrings might be bad as well.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Chain stretch is usually the first indicator that this sort of thing will happen. Replace your chain when it starts to display chain stretch symptons and that way you don't end up having to replace your entire drive train. When I was a total noob (note I am still a noob), I did exactly as you have done. I eventually had to replace the front cranks (worked out cheaper than getting new chain rings), cluster, bottom bracket (it developed play) and pulley wheels (already forked out for a new chain by this stage).

I have a simple test for chain stretch (and maybe chainring wear). I set up my gears so that the chain is on the largest chainring and on a gear that will keep the chain reasonably straight. I look for any gaps between the chain and chainring (helps to have a bright light behind it). Your chain should fit snugly around approx half of the chain ring.

If there is a gap, then the chain is not contacting properly at these points, and the links that are contacting are going to be carrying the load of the others (which accelerates drivetrain wear). My chain was so badly stretched that it was only contacting on a quarter of the chain ring (about 4 - 6 links).

mtbr member
    Apr 2007