mtbr member

Master link versus connecting pin on Shimano chain

My shop built my bike up and insisted on a master link instead of the standard Shimano connecting pin. They said it was far stronger and they only use master links when building new bikes.

Truth or just an opinion of one shop owner? I've been running connecting pins on Shimano chains since 1988 and haven't had problems. Of course, those were 6-speed chains back then...
    I live with fear and danger every day. And on the weekends she lets me go mountain biking.

Plays with tools
    That's just the incorrect opinion of the shop owner. In 15 years as a professional mechanic I've never seen a Shimano instal pin fail. I'm sure Shimano has tested master links and found they weren't a better way to do it.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by customfab View Post
    That's just the incorrect opinion of the shop owner. In 15 years as a professional mechanic I've never seen a Shimano instal pin fail. I'm sure Shimano has tested master links and found they weren't a better way to do it.
    +1. Shimano connecting pins are rock solid and hard to get wrong.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I've been using SRAM quick links with SRAM and Shimano chains on Shimano drivetrains for 15 years, both road and MTB (all 9 speed), never had a single problem. I prefer using quick links because my OCD kicks in hard when I try to center the Shimano pins properly in the link :-)

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Zero problems with connecting pins. They're only inconvenient if you have a habit of taking the chain off the bike before it's time to replace it, but that's another argument for another time.

Master links simply make the drivetrain easier to dissemble for deep cleaning and make connecting the chain save an extra second or two. I truly have no preference between the two, just use what comes with the chain.

mtbr member
    Mar 2011