Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    'All over it!'

Making the switch to 1x9....

The last twelve months have resulted in good fitness gains, often resulting in my not using the granny ring on my current 36-24 F and 11 - 34 R setup. I have therefore decided to make the switch to a 1x9 setup, although I am very new to this concept, I am relying on you good people for some advice.

The potential component list include:

Raceface Atlas AM Crankarms.
    Hope Ceramic BB.
    E Thirteen 34T Chainring.
    Shimano XT 11 - 34 Cassette.
    MRP Mini-Me System 3 Chain Device with a Gamut P20 Bashguard.

Is this combination fit for purpose? Or can anybody make any ammendments based on experience? I am looking for an effective chain device that is easy to install and quiet.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Id start with a 32T chainring. You'll have plenty of top-end and it will give you a bit more for climbing. I race with a 32T and 11/34 and never run out of gear. Any specific reason you're getting a new crankset? You should be able to use your existing cranks and just replace the ring with a SS version. I'm not familiar with the mini-me setup but I'm using the MRP 1.x and it works well if you don't need a bashguard. I relly like the look of the new E.13 model for 1x9. I'd save the money from the cranks and get a short cage RD. You don't need the capacity of a long cage with the 1x9 and will be able to take several links from the chain.

I do what I want
    Sounds great and I personally want to thank you for doing it the right way,using a chainguide!!!

While I understand Floxy's position, Id say since your already stepping down a ring size from 36 to a 34 and your already using the 36 without issue, not need to go so far as to drop to 32. Honestly if you using the 36t already why not just go 36 on the single?? You'll keep the gains you already have and get stronger faster.
    Guy.Ford

I'm not really an @sshole, I just act like one online.