mtbr member
    May 2011

hydraulic brakes need new shifter?

Ok i am a beginner so take it easy i tried the search function to no avail so now i am asking.I have a trek 4300 that came with 8 speed shimano EF50 shifters if i go with hydraulic disc brake set will i have to change my shifters.I hope i can just remove the old brake lever and bolt the new one in place .after researching It does not look good for me i have taken a look at the exploded diagram on shimanos website so i think i may have to replace shifters because they are integrated with the brake handle.Any advice would be helpful.i dont really want to replace the shifters because they suit my needs but the conditions i have been riding in are requiring disk brakes lots of wet and mud if i cant go with hydraulics without replacing the shifters i guess i will go with a good set of mechanical discs

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Shifters are relatively cheap and very easy to replace. I would suggest just going with the hydraulic brake you want and ponying up for a new shifter. Since you are looking at 8 spd it might be a little tougher to find these days so I would try ebay.

g3h6o3
    Unless you buy some dual levers (integrated brake+shifter), no you don't need new shifters.

Some brakes might interfere with the shifter though so you might get a sub optimal lever position.
    Check out my SportTracks plugins for some training aid software.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    i dont want to replace the shifters i have the work fine for me the shifters i have integrate the brakes levers i am assuming this is what you meant so it looks like i am going for mechanical instead of hydraulic because i dont want to upgrade working shifters just so i can run hydraulic brakes for me being a beginner rider im sure the bb7 brakes will be good enough and should improve significantly over the current v brakes

Fat-tired Roadie
    Punctuation! Spacing!

I hate to ask this, but you do know you need new wheels, right?