mtbr member

Help me choose a new drivetrain.

My next big upgrade on my Hammerhead 100X will be the drivetrain (and wheels and brakes, but that's a different forum). Everything is just starting to get worn and I want to replace the whole drivetrain at once...Crankset, cassette, front and rear derailleur, chain, shifters, cables.

I've done some searching around and I have a few quesitons.

This looks like it's going to cost around $600 with mostly XT/X9 level stuff..... Does this sound about right (sounds like a bunch to me)?.. Or should I shop around a bit more?

SRAM or Shimano? Not to open a can of worms... and I know many people have definite preferences here but if I'm a satisfied shimano user with no axe to gring against shimano as a coporate giant per se..... is there any real reason to change? The way some talk about SRAM you'd think it was the next coming of sliced bread....but I have no experience with anything but shimano so what would I know?

Deus or XT crank?

Do all cranks come with the new outboard bearing/bb systems now replacing the need for a separate bb?

Will shimano chains work on SRAM gears and vice/versa?

Bodhisattva
    SRAM or Shimano?The way some talk about SRAM you'd think it was the next coming of sliced bread
    personal preference. They're both good. I was also a happy shimano user but don't like the dual control so jumped ship when it was time for me to rebuild my drivetrain. I still prefer xtr rapidrise over anything else but found xtr to be more finicky in terms of setup.

Deus or XT crank?
    Once again, preference. XT outboard bearing cranks have a wide q-factor which I find ergonomically unpleasing. Race Face cranks are a bit bulky at the crankarm-spider interface and I kept banging my ankle into it. After trying several cranks I settled on FSA.

Do all cranks come with the new outboard bearing/bb systems now replacing the need for a separate bb?
    Not all, but many. Be sure to read the fine print on what you're ordering.