mtbr member
    Sep 2005

help! LX bb-kona dawg problems

I have just bought a 2004 kona dawg prima frame, I have been striping my old hard tail and fitting all the goodies to my new frame. Everything has been going well, except when I tried to tighten down my crank arm on to the BB. The high and low chain ring rub and grate against the chain stay linkage. I have a shimano XT es71 68-113 hollow tech, octalink bottom bracket and a shimano LX M752 hollow tech, octalink crank arms. What am I doing wrong? Do I need a different BB? Do I need a different crank? I am not a pro mechanic but I have always done my own mechanic work with out trouble. This is not the first FS I have owned or replaced a drive train on, but this is the first time I have had this problem. Some one please tell me how to fix my bike so I can get it off my stand and into the hills!

thanks. ratman

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ratmanjr
    I have just bought a 2004 kona dawg prima frame, I have been striping my old hard tail and fitting all the goodies to my new frame. Everything has been going well, except when I tried to tighten down my crank arm on to the BB. The high and low chain ring rub and grate against the chain stay linkage. I have a shimano XT es71 68-113 hollow tech, octalink bottom bracket and a shimano LX M752 hollow tech, octalink crank arms. What am I doing wrong? Do I need a different BB? Do I need a different crank? I am not a pro mechanic but I have always done my own mechanic work with out trouble. This is not the first FS I have owned or replaced a drive train on, but this is the first time I have had this problem. Some one please tell me how to fix my bike so I can get it off my stand and into the hills!

thanks. ratman