mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Grease outside of freehub body?

I recently got a new bike (Tallboy), and when I removed the cassette I found that the freehub body was coated with grease. Is it common to grease the freehub body before installing the cassette? I've been using cassette hubs for a couple of decades now and have never greased the outside of the freehub body.

It seems like greasing it could have a couple of disadvantages:
    - Likely to attract dirt
    - Grease might come out and get on brake

Possible advantages:
    - Might make removal easier (but has never been a problem for me)
    - Could provide some wear protection for the freehub body
    - Might provide some sound dampening

I'm just curious because I've never seen this done before.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    Not that I'm an expert or anything, but I've never read/heard that you should grease the body before installing the cassette. I also think it sounds like it might cause your cassette to move around on the body more, potentially causing it to eat into the body where the cogs sit, though I doubt it would in practice as long as your lock-ring is tight enough. I actually tend to clean my bodies off well before installing the cassette. Everything seems great so far...

I did have a freehub that was greasy as hell on a freebie bike I got once, but the chain, cassette, chainrings, and generally anything anywhere close to them were also greasy as hell. Someone obviously went a little crazy with the lube...

mtbr member
    Same here: I've never heard of anyone ever recommending that. Who assembled the bike?

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by boomn View Post
    Same here: I've never heard of anyone ever recommending that. Who assembled the bike?
    This was the way it came in the box from Santa Cruz. The cassette is already installed when it ships to the bike shop.

Rub it............
    I never grease a cassette body. And don't see any benefit of doing so.

Class Clown