mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Going 1x9, some questions on parts

I'm going 1x9 and I believe I've picked out the appropriate parts, but I'm not doing anything without checking with the great internet first.

I have a 2009 Trek 4300. It has a Shimano Deore rear derailleur which I'm told is both 8 and 9 speed compatible so I should be able to use the same one, yeah?

I have selected:
    Truvativ Stylo 1.1 Single GXP 32x180mm
    Sram PG970 9 Speed Cassette 12-26
    Shimano Deore ST-M530 Shifter / Brake Lever 9 Speed

I'm going to let my LBS handle the installation so I'll pick up a chain from them. I believe all that's left is a chain guide? I don't HAVE to get it from the same site, but I'll save on shipping if I do. The only choices there are these: http://store.icyclesusa.com/chain-guides-c1870.aspx

I wouldn't know a good chain guide from a bad one as I've never used one before. Please advise.

One final question. Single speed and nine speeds have different chains. The crank I've chosen says it's single speed. Is it compatible with a nine speed chain or did I completely select the wrong one?

Thank you for your time! Happy Black Friday!

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    Maybe I'm asking too much..... I'll simplify it.

Is this good enough or do I need something fancier? N Gear Jump Stop

Is this crank compatible for 1x9, or is it strictly single speed? Truvativ Stylo 1.1 Single GXP 32x180mm

mtbr member
    yeah man that crank should work. if you think about it its just like any other crank its just missing the other rings....
    Example: if you have a 27sp set up and only using the middle chain ring...... Big ring delete, small ring delete .....your left using the 32t ring... your rear derailleur will do the same work its always done.

i dont THINK you need a chain guide.... but im sure someone will call me out on that

MTBR Member