Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Frustrated with the purchase (drivetrain Trek 4300)

1K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  thecrazyfinn 
#1 ·
Hello,

I am actually new to biking, but my question is related to this forum's subject.

Just bougt Trek 4300. Paid around $400 thinking that should be a good stuff for this price.
After I took the bike from the shop, chain went off when I shift the gear (one step at the time) on the left side (there 3 gears on the left side in total). Put the chain back and again it went off in the simmilar situation.
Brought bike back to the store. After trying to fix it, they changed the whole bike saying there is a defect in it.
They assembled for me brand new same model Trek 4300. This time I was able to go for about 10 mile on the paved road (not even durty road) and when going up I changed gear from 2 to 1 (left side) and bum :) , and chain went off again. This time I put the chain back but now the chain likely touching something and there is an instant noise from chain rubbing the surface (not sure what it is touching)
I did not have time yet to go back to the shop.
Did I do something wrong. May be there is a rule that first I have to change gear on the right side (back?) and only after I get to the last/first stop, change gear on the left (front) side? Is there any rule in changing the gears? I know that I have to pedal to get a new gear and then change it for whatever I want. Correct?

I red some posts and there mentioned that Derailleur are cheap and bad in this 4300 Trek
What can be my next step? I am kind of ready to spend more (or get a better model for same price) and not spend time in bike shope.