mtbr member
    Mar 2005

Enduro BB bearings Who's used them?

I'm kind of tired of blowing $35 bucks a pop for race face deus bearings. I have two sets so I get to actually blow $70 bucks a year. I was wondering if the enduro standards are any better. I could have a spare sitting on my shelf then too. I'm guessing if a guy is real careful he could do this with a light press? any input is greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    I'm using them. They have nice outer seals. so far so good. I was able to install them without the special tools. If I were wrenching for a living I'd get the tool.

Twin Six METAL
    I'm running these bearings in the XTR shells and they are great. I used their tool to remove the old bearings and to press the new ones in. This is one of the best tools I've used. I would recommend getting one if you are going to be doing the bearings more than once.
    SpeedWorks Coaching Services
    http://www.speedworkscoaching.com

mtbr member
    Mar 2005

Life span ??

Thanks for the speedy replies. I'll probably get some. Would you say they last longer? Were your originals about on par with mine a year or so. How long have the enduros lasted? I might try to make a tool at work for for the first couple. Thanks guys for the input it makes my decision much easier.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I ran about 6000 km thru the summer on original Shimano XT BB's.

I am now at about 4000 km thru the WINTER on Enduro's BB's.

So at least as good as.

I have seen some of the seal edge beginning to wear, I think i picked up a bunch of grass and mud, and it wiped the edges.

mtbr member
    Mar 2005

That's not bad

I think a year for either bike would be less than 2000 miles. Conditions are not terribly dusty or muddy. I don't ride in the winter. I almost wonder if it's worse for them to sit over the winter. Seems like I always notice they need replacing in the spring.

mtbr member
    May 2006