mtbr member
    May 2013

Differences between front derailleurs?

So I'm new to all this. I'm curious about front derailleurs. sorry for the noob questions.

I can see the difference on the rears with higher quality ones, but for the front What would the main differences be.

They all look the same to me.

Any info would be awesome,
    Thank you.

mtbr member
    As long as it is compatible with your frame, then the only differences is really weight and bling factor. Not a whole heck of a lot going on with advancements of front derailleur technology. That is also why it is so easy to mix/match different manufacturers front derailleurs w shifters.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by 006_007 View Post
    As long as it is compatible with your frame, then the only differences is really weight and bling factor. Not a whole heck of a lot going on with advancements of front derailleur technology. That is also why it is so easy to mix/match different manufacturers front derailleurs w shifters.

Yeah that kind of is what I was thinking. The difference i could only see was with how they looked and the weight. I just wasn't sure.

Can any bike use a top swing or bottom swing? is that a specific thing only certain bikes can use.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator

Differences between front derailleurs?

Quote Originally Posted by 208Ryder View Post
    Yeah that kind of is what I was thinking. The difference i could only see was with how they looked and the weight. I just wasn't sure.

Can any bike use a top swing or bottom swing? is that a specific thing only certain bikes can use.
    No. Some frames are top swing (low clamp) only, some are bottom swing (high clamp) only, some can use either. Some use direct mount--no seat tube clamp (and 3 different types).

Add in top (cable) pull or bottom pull, and a few other options and you have a bunch of different FDs. SRAM has 43 different XO FDs.
    mtbtires.com