mtbr member
    Jun 2013

CRASH Course in SRAM/Shimano requested...

Hi,

I am new to mountain bike riding and have a few questions.

I just bought a low end giant revel and have the option to upgrade whole bike to better bike.
    I am trying to figure out what sram/shimano shifters, derailers,etc... are equivalent or what is the hiearchy?

It seems so confusing to me , I do IT support and thier marketing reminds me of how intel markets thier i3,i5,i7 processors because depending on what i7 processor you get it , a i5 processor can actually out perform the i7...

I am wanting to upgrade to a better componentry bike, I dont really care about name brand, although the store I bought the bike from I am limited to Giant or Kona mountain bikes.

I will only be a medium grade/ intermiate user, no competitions, expert mntn biking etc.. as I am older guy and still out of shape but want to make a good, long lasting purchase with smooth solid shifter, brakes, derailers,etc...

The sram shifters appear to be xx1,xx,xo,x9 etc.. descending to lowest grade?
    the front and rear derailers appear to be related by same? xx,xo,x9,etc...
    Is this correct? What is rule for compatibilty? if they are made for same cassete? 10, 9,8, etc...?

Shimano I really know even less about.

Thanks,

Wayne

Plays with tools
    Shimano is XTR, XT, SLX, Deore

SRAM is XX, XO, X9, X7, X5, there is also XX1 that runs parallel to XX and XO, it's not better or worse than those groups, just different.

There are a ton of threads discussing the pro's and con's of each system.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by customfab View Post
    There are a ton of threads discussing the pro's and con's of each system.
    Agree in concept.

To quickly summarize though:

1. Components are nearly always lighter in the higher trim levels compared to lower.

2. Some features are found only on higher-end models.

3. Faster, less clunky shifting is a typical benefit of higher-end models.