mtbr member

crankset making noise like the chain is rubbing against front derailer ?

my crankset is making noises that sound like the chain is rubbing against something hard. I cant figure out how to fix it. I messed with the large ring and middle ring last week before i left for a confrence in DC and when i came back the first day out it was making this sound every time i started riding fast or if i hit a bump it would come and go. help please?

Could indeed be your chain rubbing on your front derailleur, might need adjustment. Could be what you were messing with. Hard to say without some description of the problem (i.e. when it specifically happens) or what you did.
    "...the people get the government they deserve..."
    suum quique

mtbr member
    the sound comes when ever the trail starts to get alittle bit bumpy and I dont have to be pedaling for it to come too. I greased the bolts on the chainring in hope that it might had been those rattling, but no luck.

should i jst use this as and excuse to get a new crankset?

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    When peddaling, look down and see if your chain is rubbing on the cage. I'm also gonna go wacky and assume that it happens more when your're in your bigger cogs.

mtbr member
    little ones actually and no it doesnt seem to be rubbing against the cage. The thing is I dont actually have to be pedaling for it to start making the noise. If I'm jst coastingand its gets bumpy the sounds starts again and it would stay for a while even when I'm on more tame fireroad it still makes the sound. I dont think its the chain rubbing cause of that.

EDR
    You've ruled out the chain/cassette/cranks. Things that still move when not pedaling include, rear hub (and front of course) and the freehub.(that thing the cassette sits on and makes that 'clicky' sound when coasting).