mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Crankset and bottom bracket question/guidance

I just bought a used bike and it has the race face evolve DH bottom bracket and race face cranks. I noticed squeaking and clicking in the bb and went to clean it and noticed that it is super rough when I try to spin it. I am thinking about switching it out but based on reviews it looks like the evolve bb are terrible. I was looking at these Race Face Ride DH 2X9/10 Crankset | Race Face | Brand | www.PricePoint.com as a cheap alternative. They have good reviews and are on sale for 60$ but they only have 83mm available and wasnt sure if it would fit my bike. I am no bike mechanic and dont know enough to feel comfortable buying 60$ of product only to pay 20$ to return shipping so I am seeking any help/guidance. It appears to me like a bb replacement alone wont work. I can give info on my cranks if needed. I have a Jamis Komodo 3.0 2006 frame. Thanks! Any info helps

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Race Face Evolve DH Bottom Bracket Bottom Bracket Reviews
    This is my current BB. MY current cranks are the race face prodigy DH.
    Race Face Prodigy DH ISIS Crankset Reviews

mtbr member
    May 2012

Re: Crankset and bottom bracket question/guidance

You could probably use any Shimano bb, but it depends on the crankset. Reply with the type and someone can give you a definitive answer

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I have Race Face Prodigy DH cranks and the BB is the Race Face Evolve DH currently on it.
    My main question is do I have to replace the crank AND bb (in which case I would just buy a crankset) or do you think I can get away with just buying a new bb?
    In either case, what bb would fit my current cranks that is cheap and worth buying.
    As for a crankset, does size matter at all? What does the 83mm stand for? Will it fit any bike? I dont mind spending 60$ on a new crankset especially because of the ratings on the above posted one, I just need to be sure that it will fit my bike.