SuperInstigator

Crank Fell Off....Possible Noob Question

My Shimano Hones that I installed myself were working great (around 50 miles or so) up until recently. With only split second warning, the left crank just fell off. I don't know if it's my fault or Shimano's, but I'm leaning toward the former. Here is the evidence...

I used that little plastic thing (Tool Tl-FC16, whatever that means to you) to tighten the other little plastic cap on the crank. I hand tightened it pretty hard.

Then the left crank just fell off, and the cap disappeared. What do I do?

I know this is very badly written and vague (...little plastic thing...What do I do?...) but I'm a new technology noob and I tried my best. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
    TIMM
    I wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then.

SuperInstigator
    After more investigation, I see that a strip of the splines on the crank where it attaches to the BB seem prematurely worn as do the splines on the BB.

Hope that helps you answer my horrible noobish question!
    TIMM

...idios...
    Did you also tighten the pinch-bolts on the left crank?

Vaginatarian
    Oct 2005
    sounds like you didnt have it fastened properly , and as it worked itself off it damaged the splines, if you can get it back on, retighten the bearing pre load (the plastic thingy), then tighten & torque the pinch bolts and use blue loctite on the pinch bolts, grease on the splines

SuperInstigator
    Quote Originally Posted by dan0
    sounds like you didnt have it fastened properly , and as it worked itself off it damaged the splines, if you can get it back on, retighten the bearing pre load (the plastic thingy), then tighten & torque the pinch bolts and use blue loctite on the pinch bolts, grease on the splines
    I got the crank back on with little trouble, and I did tighten the pinch bolts pretty tight-if to the correct torque I don't know. Why should I use grease on the splines; did you mean to get them on?