pain Only Hurts for a min
    Feb 2010

Crank arm falling off!!!

Okay so I am still new to all of this but I have been getting better...

I recently had to do some maintenance on my bottom bracket, which went well I might add, but now my crank arm on the left side of the bike keeps loosening. It actually loosened to the point that it fell off once! I re-tightened it, assuming I just didn't do it right the first time...but now it is loosening again...

Why is it doing this and what can be done to stop it? Please help I don't want to ride it till it is fixed...

Thanks for the help in advance!!!

Also if anyone has any magic way of removing pedals that seem to be welded on cuz they are so tight that would be amazing too!!!
    Just a Kid chasing his Dreams

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    What cranks are they?

Do you know which way to unscrew the pedals? One of them is reverse threaded....but I forget which one is. They can be a real pain in the ass to remove if they were put on too tight in the first place.

Feb 2010
    The crankset is Shimano TC-M361

and

I have no idea which way the pedals are supposed to unscrew...all I know is they are on there tight! The pedals are the Wellgo M-21 ATB. I have never taken them off since I got the bike 2 years ago... I have a set of pedals I want to switch them out for (got the other new set given to me) but couldn't get them off so gave up on the switch. I actually really like the Wellgos that are on it...they are cheap but feel great!

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Bad news... You usually have to replace both the crank and the bb once an arm starts coming loose. The play wallows both parts. You might try locktite and over-torque it a bit, but budget some money for replacements. www. parktool.com/blog/repair-help/pedal-installation-and-removal-pw-3-pw-4-pw-5-hcw-16

Feb 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by rlouder View Post