mtbr member

Clipless pedals for trailbike

Hi,

I have been riding with clips and straps for the past 10 years, and once tried SPD pedals. I would like to try clipless again on my new trailbike.

I need lots of float, would like adjustable tension or at least be VERY easy to get out of in a near-crash scenario.

I am willing to spend up to 150 for the pedals.

I also need a pair of shoes to go with them.

Thanks,
    Steve

Chrome Toaster
    If you want lots of float go with Time or Eggbeaters. Unfortunately they have no release tension adjustment. Shimano is the only one with tension adjustment but they have the least float with no adjustment to increase it. $150 will get you a nice set of pretty high end pedals. Look at Crank Bothers Eggbeaters, Time ATAC, and Shimano 959, 540, or 520's

Curtlo Hardtail(liatdraH)

My first clipless

I went with Times after some research on clipless, I liked the float, and the egg beaters didn't exist yet. They seemed impossible to get out of when I first got them now after several years of using them, I hardly notice them. None of the pedals with good float have tension adjustment that I know of, Slippery Frogs, Time and Beaters. I like my Times.
    Rule books are paper they will not cushion a sudden meeting of stone and metal.

willtsmith_nwi

I recommend AGAINST SPD ...

Quote Originally Posted by soulfly_NYC
    Hi,

I have been riding with clips and straps for the past 10 years, and once tried SPD pedals. I would like to try clipless again on my new trailbike.

I need lots of float, would like adjustable tension or at least be VERY easy to get out of in a near-crash scenario.

Thanks,
    Steve
    SPD gets clogged up in the mud too easily.

Egg Beaters, Time and Speedplay seem to have the best reputation.

Where I ride, egg-beaters are king. Personally, I rode straps for a VERY long time. My first pair of strapless pedals are the Mallet-C which provide a VERY big platform in addition to the 4 sided egg-beater system.