mtbr member

Changing gears whilst pedaling uphill

Hey guys.

I'm a newb here and my product knowledge is sweet f all.

I ride a Felt 400FS and if I'm riding bush tracks trying to power up hill and need to change gears my current stock system doesn't like this at all and will slip.

What can I upgrade to allow this type of thing?

Cheers

AKA Dr.Nob
    This is a problem lots of new riders have. It has nothing to do with the bike. Bikes don't like to change gears when under heavy load. This usually happens on a slow climb.

You have to plan ahead and change into the right gear before hitting the hill. You can change the cogs on the rear cluster if you desperatly have to but the front is unlikely to change.

If you stop pedaling for a second this can some times allow the gears to change.

As you get more experienced you will learn to pick the right gears before hitting the climb.
    Not that all teenagers are evil mind, just most of them.

MTB B'dos

Yourself

Simple as that it's nothing to do with the bike, it's your technique or really lack there of. Every begginer experiences this and can't figure why and thinks it's the bike's fault when in fact it isn't. What you have to do is learn to ease the pressure off of the drive train if you want to shift and here's how it's done.......................

When peddaling uphill under load and you want to change gears, it's very simple to accomplish - you simple do a 1/2 hard stroke. I'll explain. when you decide you want to change simply give a serious 1/2 power stroke from about 9 to 3 o'clock over the top of the stroke and then ease the pressure off through the bottom of the stroke. The hard upper 1/2 stroke should keep your momentum and allow you to release the pressure on the bottom 1/2 of the stroke and give the gears the "space" they need to smoothly shift.

Quote Originally Posted by demonx
    Hey guys.

I'm a newb here and my product knowledge is sweet f all.