mtbr member
    Sep 2005

Chains and keeping them rust free....

Hey all,

I have a brand new Specialized Enduro Comp 130 with a HG-73 chain. Not even a month has gone by and the chain is rusted with lots of use. I lube it with a wax based lube to cut down on the sand interaction. In all fainess I do live near the ocean in Florida, but I also have a cheap Mongoose bike that is rarely ridden and the chain is rust free while it sets in my garage.

Are there any lubes that will keep the chain rust free (within reason) and keep the sand off it ? Also, are there any chains that won't rust ; won't rust as much as others?

I have been riding for 10 years and it seems the chains rust more than ever. Thanks all!

MTB B'dos
    Well I can fairly say that the SRAM PC59 chain I just replaced looked as clean and shinny as the day I put it on about 3 months ago. I know you're going so what's the big deal 3 months ain't nothing. Well in those 3 months I've done some seriously muddy (sandy/clayey mud) riding and put over 1,000 miles on the chain and unfortunately took it a little past it's proper wear and wore out my middle ring along the way.

So the answer is SRAm chains seem to keep their gleam and "bling" however you pay quite darely for this as a SRAM chain now costs at least twice as much if not more than a similar Shimano chain - I'm back to the PG-73/LX Shimano chains 'cause I wear a chain out on avg about every 2-3 months.

Make sure that when you wash/clean your chain/drive train that you try to get it dry ASAP and lube it right away as that's when it really start to rust just sitting there right after all the lubes been washed off.
    One day your life will flash before your eyes, will it be worth watching??
    MTB Barbados
    My Phantom pics

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by parkair
    Also, are there any chains that won't rust ; won't rust as much as others?