mtbr member
    Nov 2005

Chainline vs. Shimano direction

I'm building up a new frameset and rolling over my old stuff. Here's my problem/question -

I'm using a Profile Racing crankset & I can mix-n-match spacers to get a "perfect" chainline. The problem is when I do that, the outer chainwheel sits way inside the F. derailuer cage. I've got the old "pro-alignment" block stuffed into the F. derailuer to line everything up & Shimano clearly says in their tech set-up directions, that everything's "right" up front when "The level section of the chain guide outer plate should be directly above & parallel to the largest chainring.". Now I admit I'm not really sure what they mean by the "level section", but from the pretty lil diagram, I assume they mean the vertical section ot the outer plate.

OK, so I'm not a bike mechanic as you can tell, but it seems I can have one or the other here - so which one? If I set the chainring where Shimano wants it, my chainline falls a tick to the outside of the 6th cog. If I set the chainline right, the largest chainring is way inside the outer guide plate of the F. derailuer.

So, if I go with the chainline - am I going to get shifting problems? Or if I follow Shimano's ideas am I going to get weird wear issues? Or...?

The last set-up these parts were on was an 8spd. & I'm going to 9spd, but I don't recall this really being an issue then - but it's probably more likely that I'm paying alot more attention to the chainline now that I'm more comfy working on my own stuff.

On MTBR hiatus :(
    The included alignment block is probably set up for a 47.5mm chainline. The stated range of Shimano's front derailleurs is 47.5 to 50.0mm (from experience, their estimate is a touch conservative, but not by much).