mtbr member

chain is hitting the outside cage

hi all. i am very new to bike maintenance and I was needing some help!

my chain was on the highest chain ring and smallest cog on the rear and my chain was touching the outside cage of the front der. I tried slightly turning the high/low limit screws, but it didn't seem to do anything.

Secondly, I unscrewed the hex of the actual front der to see how it works, but I am guessing the tension on the cable was too tight so I had an extremely tough time trying to get it back on. Do you suggest that I remove the tension from the cable before all this?

I really want to learn how to do my own front/rear der adjustments and more. Thank you for your patience and help.

dru
    mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    Your cable tension on the front derailleur is too slack. (I'll explain why in a bit) The limit screws do exactly what their name says: they limit the physical movement of the derailleur inward (low limit screw) and outward (high limit screw). The limit screws have nothing to do with cable tension. If your chain is rubbing the outside plate and the high screw does nothing to help when you loosen the screw, the cable tension is too low (your shifter cable is too slack).