Pittsburgh Trail Rider
    Jul 2006

Can't shift off large chain ring

My front derailer will not shift off the large chain ring. I try shifting all the way down to the smallest ring and it doesn't move. I cleaned and oiled the chain (using simple green and white lightning) and it shifted smoothly for about week, but then started acting up again. I have only been using my bike to get back and forth from work, no trail riding, on paved roads. I have only had this bike for about a year, have only taken it off paved trails a couple times, and I am new to doing any adjustments. Do you all have any suggestions?
    "With God all things are possible" - Matthew 19:26

"Blessed are those who can laugh at their own mistakes, for they shall never cease to be amused" - unknown

MTJ
    mtbr member
    Feb 2004

A couple things to try

There are basically three possibilities for problems here: the spring in the derailleur (not likely), the cables (get dirty and jam up easily) or your shifters (if the other two things are ok).

To rule out the derailleur: Disconnect the cable from the derailleur and see how it moves; it should literally shft to the granny gear as you loosen the cable (cable tension shifts from smaller gear to bigger gear, so with no cable tension it should shift to the lowest possible gear immediately). One spin of the cranks should dump the chain to the granny gear. If it doesn't, your derailleur is the problem. If it does, go to the next step - cables.