mtbr member

Cant shift into large chainring-help (just replaced crankset)

I just bent a chainring and had to replace my entire crankset. The crankset install went OK I thought. Now, I am trying to get just front derailleur adjusted. However, once I adjust the front derailleur to where it shifts smoothly into 1 and 2 - I cant get it to shift into 3. To be clear, I CANT even get it to click into 3. It seems like I have the derailleur so tight that it physically cant move enough (via the chain tension) to allow the 3 to be entered.

What seems weird is that based on the location of the largest chainring, it doesnt appear that the derailleur can move far enough to force the chain onto the largest chainring.

This is my first time working on this part of my bike so I may just be doing something completely wrong - but I watched a few tutorials on this subject and none really addressed the issue I am running into.

Please let me know if you have any suggestions... I can post photos if there is anything specific I can show you that might help with the troubleshooting...thanks.

mtbr member
    Possible caues:

1) "H" limit screw needs to be adjusted.
    2) New crankset is offset to the right. Check instructions for spacers, etc.
    3) Derailleur cage is hitting large chainring.
    4) Chainring is larger in diameter (more teeth) than your old one making the chain too short to get onto the large chainring.

Try removing the chain and check/adjust derailleur travel.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by billee
    Possible caues:

1) "H" limit screw needs to be adjusted.
    2) New crankset is offset to the right. Check instructions for spacers, etc.
    3) Derailleur cage is hitting large chainring.
    4) Chainring is larger in diameter (more teeth) than your old one making the chain too short to get onto the large chainring.

Try removing the chain and check/adjust derailleur travel.