mtbr member
    Oct 2012

can you help with component selection / newbie

Hey guys Im a newbie to mtb and although very mechanical I dont know to much about mtb stuff.
    I bought two bikes, both 07 models one is a yeti asr the other a yeti 575.

my intention is the asr will be the knock around bike and the 575 is going to be a little more show, I am in the process of re doing the frame and so on where as the asr will just get components added to ride.

I don't want to argue sram or shimano, I have come to a conclusion that both have their place and Im looking for a deal, well I think I found it on some parts needed and bought them.

My intention is keep both bikes basically the same so I can use parts from one to the other and here is a list of stuff I bought.

At this point I dont care if they are 3x9 or 3x10 but again both bikes will be the same so with my list I basically want to know if this stuff may match up?

I currently have these components bought in a lot, some parts almost new, others show some use.

1- shimano xtr crank 172.5mm / 24-32-44- sprockets need replaced( 32/44)
    2- shimano xt crank 175mm / 22-32-44-near new
    3- 1 set new xt sprockets 22-32-44
    4- xt front derailleur model m781
    5- xt rear derailleur model m780
    6- chris king bb says mtn on it.
    7- chris king headset, no thread type.
    8- shimano xtr bb
    9- shimano 180mm rotors
    10- 1 set of shimano rapidfire sl shifter/brake lever combo, model m750
    11- easton monkey lite with specialized stem
    12- easton monkeylite bars with sram rocket 3x9 shifters, juicy 3 brakes and calipers.
    13- rhyno lite wheels with shimano xt hubs and kenda tires/skewers.

basically I want to know if the rapid fire shifter/brake combo will work with deraillures and if the gear ratio on the cranks I have is what is used in a 3x9 set up also if the rapid fire set up looks like a cable brake set up, should I use those or go another way and sell them since they are new ?