mtbr member
    Oct 2016

Can I go to narrow wide?

I am an outdoor education teacher and I manage a fleet of 15 2015 Specialized Rockhoppers. I have taken the front derailer off and the kids have really excelled in with a 1x drive train. Let chain break, suck, cross chaining...

The bikes are a nine speed set up and at the moment I am looking at narrow wide chain rings.

Will a narrow wide chain ring work with a nine speed chain and cassette? Some of them are speed specific but others do not mention if they are speed specific.

mtbr member
    I'm not aware of a n/w ring designed for <10s. That's not to say they won't work - the teeth are just going to be slightly narrower than ideal. And when I say slightly, I mean slightly, as in the equivalent of a month or wear.

To me the bigger thing is the fact that there's no such thing as a 9s clutch derailleur. That makes much more of a difference in terms of dropped chains.

poser Administrator
    Quote Originally Posted by El'Gator View Post
    I am an outdoor education teacher and I manage a fleet of 15 2015 Specialized Rockhoppers. I have taken the front derailer off and the kids have really excelled in with a 1x drive train. Let chain break, suck, cross chaining...

The bikes are a nine speed set up and at the moment I am looking at narrow wide chain rings.

Will a narrow wide chain ring work with a nine speed chain and cassette? Some of them are speed specific but others do not mention if they are speed specific.
    I use a narrow wide on my 1x9. I think it was a raceface chainring (*Race Face Single Narrow Wide Chainring > Components > Drivetrain > Chainrings | Jenson USA). I use a 9spd chain and have no problems with noise or derailing of chain without a clutch rear derailleur. I use a n-gear jumpstop (N-Gear, Home of the Jump Stop) with a bashguard just in case but I took the jump stop off awhile ago to test something and never put it back on and haven't had any drops.
    Try this: HTFU

damned rocks...