mtbr member

Hope Bigger inner ring question- verbose post

Currently I'm running my stock 22-32-44 Shimano M 542/Deore crankset, sans 44, added bash and 12-36 casette on my GF RF1. Yes I'm a noob ,so bear with me on this simple one.
    This last weekend I found myself torn between the 32 and 22 as I was often at the low end of the 32s range(32x36) and also high end of 22s (22x14 maybe 12). I was fresh on the first lap when using the 32, but later found the 22 more comfortable.
    I guess that there is less cross chaining effect from using the middle, and if I were stronger it would probably be best to just stay with a 32 there. However before I jump on the 1X9 idea all together( man, that widget looks cool ), I'm contemplating trying out a cheap 26-28 for my inner, which will probably be more appropriate if I persist in being big ring lazy LOL. ( I wish I could put a 26-28 in the middle location and be done with it...)

My question is- what is the difference between these two shimano sprockets and are there any other brand inner 26- 28 available out there that y'all could recommend??
    These are copy and paste from Jensens site- M572 and 580 compatible, and I'm assuming M542 compatible also??

64mm x 26t Silver - 4 bolt
    Mfg #: use CR5813
    UPC #: 689228160958
    and
    4x64mm x 26t silver
    Mfg #: Y1DS26000
    UPC #: 689228156715

I'm also contemplating a med cage RDR as my chain slap is atrocious when on the 22 especially, so bigger inner may be more appropriate match here too, right?(yes, I've read the stickie, and shortened chain to big big+2)
    Thanks for your time and consideration!
    Last edited by Noclutch; 11-17-2010 at 06:02 PM.

T.W.O.
    Some how this feels weird. Ok you have a standard triple with 12/36 why do you need to get a bigger small ring, all you have to do is shift to middle ring. Instead of spending money and time to do all this change, may be try learning the proper shifting.IMO