mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Anyone hoarding Shimano 8 speed cassettes?

Are the higher end models being discountinued?

I've been checking the price of the Shimano XT 8 speed cassette. The're at $60. I remember buying it for about half price a couple years ago.

Are the Sram compatible cassettes any good in terms of longevity?

56-year-old teenager
    Aug 2006
    Heck, my hardtail has an XTR M900 cassette on it, I picked it up several years ago for $50!

There's still a few XTR 8-speed cassettes out there but as you say, they're not cheap any more. I have no experience with the SRAM cassettes, but I like their 8-speed chains.

SCC
    SCC
    Jan 2007
    I found an XT 8 speed for 29 bucks last summer from my LBS, thats 29 bucks canuck. Good deal yes. He was surprised he still had one kicking around in a drawer.

Do It Yourself
    The higher end 8 speed Shimano stuff has been out of production for quite some time. Your best bet for NOS is eBay. The SRAMs are fine in terms of longevity but do weigh a lot more than the M950 XTR 12-32 cassettes I'm using.
    Long Live Long Rides

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    I use the SRAM 8 speed chain and casette. No problems, easy to find and come with the right tooth humbers for me. I have seen good deals on the Sram trigger shifters that are brand new and 8 speed that I am going to jump on soon. I have found no reason to go 9 speed and the cassettes are lighter

JmZ
    Reformed Lurker
    Quote Originally Posted by rallyraid
    Are the higher end models being discountinued?

I've been checking the price of the Shimano XT 8 speed cassette. The're at $60. I remember buying it for about half price a couple years ago.

Are the Sram compatible cassettes any good in terms of longevity?

Hoarding - Yes.

Slowly, but yes.

Yes! Yes! Yes!

SRAM cassettes are ok, as long as you have a steel freehub body. Tend to gouge Alum freehub bodies otherwise.