mtbr member
    Mar 2005

anyone else have problems clipping into Frogs?

I'm eager to finally go clipless on my MTB but it looks like the only thing someone with bad knees should consider is Frogs (which I have been using on my road bike for 4 years). This is from reading tons of reviews here yesterday. So many people said they were easy to get in and out of but I often have trouble clipping in and have false clip-ins where my foot just comes right off after a couple of revs. I'd hate to have that problem on a hill, but then I have plenty of problems with regular clips too. But at least there is more platform

Now, maybe I got a bad pair of Frogs, because other users say they've *never* had any problems with them. Also I heard they were redesigned since then too.

Anyone with recent experience with the new Frogs??

Mantis, Paramount, Campy

My Feelings

First I will start by saying that I havent used the redesigned Frogs yet.

I will say that Frogs have a very vague feeling when clipping in. There is really nothing to let you know you are clipped in. That takes a bit of getting used to as does the float. I have never had a problem of not getting clipped in. Just step on them and the cleats engage.

I've ridden pretty much every clipless pedal system out there besides EggBeaters and keep comming back to Frogs. Initially I got them for weight savings and hated the float but stuck with them. I grew to love the float and the fact that there is no retaining spring so there is 0 (zero) pressure required to unclip.

khj
    BOOYAKASHA!
    Quote Originally Posted by MTDirtGirl